A fishing town on the North Yorkshire coast; Filey is steeped in rich culturual history. Records indicate that people have lived here for well over 1200 years!
Archaeologists have uncovered evidence which suggests the Romans built signal stations in Filey to warn of impending skirmishes from the savage Saxons.
In circa 1830, the now Grade II listed Langford Villa was built and later became the summer residence of the Terry’s family, the famous York chocolatiers.
Until the 19th Century Filey was still only a village. A solicitor, John Wilkes Unett, purchased several acres of land around 1835. This land later became The Crescent, a row of the finest domestic terraces in England.
Later in 1850, The Royal Crescent Hotel opened its doors to critical acclaim, which saw Filey’s reputation contend with that of it’s larger neighbouring towns.
Of course what most people know about Filey history is that it was home to Butlin’s Holiday Camp in 1939. For more than 40 years Butlin’s became a great source of revenue to the Filey economy. However, in 1984 it closed it’s doors. Much to the sorrow of tourists and townsfolk alike.
Filey, like most coastal towns, has relied heavily on fishing and farming to maintain a solid local economy. It’s equidistant location between Bridlington and Scarborough only serving to help trade of fish and foodstuffs. Railway transport links were introduced in 1846 with the lovely Railway Station. Offical estimates reveal that this railway station is as popular as ever with hundreds of thousands of people journeying down the line each year.
Modern Filey is a beautiful, traditional town. Not too focused on the past to be archaic, but still full on the atavistic charms of it’s rich history.