Located at the end of Filey’s famous Crescent, the White Lodge enjoys stunning views of Filey Bay and Brigg from every room, be it bedrooms, dining room or the bar.
The hotel has twenty double en-suite rooms and three, 2-bedroom holiday apartments. Visitors and guests enjoy a restaurant, bar and lounge bar as well as a large outside terrace. There is also a private dining room for parties and special events.
The outside terrace is often packed in the summer sunshine and some hardy souls even wrap up to enjoy it in the cooler months. More sensible folk sit by one of the log fires in the lounge taking in the view.
The White Lodge was built in 1856 as a private residence known as ‘the South Crescent Villa’. It however nicknamed ‘the Lodge’, its grounds stretched down to the water edge and boating, sailing and sea fishing were common pastimes for guests.
In the 1890’s the actress Dame Madge Kendal purchased the house with her husband and fellow actor, William H Kendal. The Kendal’s managed the St James Theatre in London and appeared in plays continuously until 1908 when they retired to Filey. Madge was created ‘Dame Grand Cross of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire’ GBE in 1926 and died in 1935, aged 87. Recently a blue plaque commemorating Dame Madge was unveiled above the main entrance.
In 1938 the property was converted to a hotel and, at last, its unofficial name became it official title as it opened for business as the White Lodge Hotel.